Quantum Statement

The New Internet, the New World

Introduction

This site will be a repository for my ideas. At the time of this post, I am a twenty-six year old male, living in Brooklyn, New York, U.S.A., attending Pratt Institute, in pursuit of a degree in Library and Information Science. I also suffer from the peculiar affliction of having a hyperactive mind. I spend 80-90% of my day obsessing over various matters, trying to work out the solutions to a host of problems, both personal, spiritual, and societal. Most of these problems have no solutions, but my mind is in a perpetual state of agitation, as if the world was tilted and only thought can correct it. This is certainly not an enviable position to be in, but it gives me the advantage of frequent flights of fancy. When you’re mind is a washing machine stuck on the hefty cycle, the world has enormous possibility.

Blogging (an ugly term that I hope fades into obscurity soon) offers a sublime medium for transmitting these unfiltered ramblings. I have experimented with blogging three times, but I have always had trouble with content. I found it difficult to stay on track, and my postings would often vere in different directions. It was only recently that I corrected this problem, which was mostly due to a lack of confidence in the direction of my thought. Once I was able to trust my voice, could I ignore the occasional dips in and out of reality and rationality to discover what the uniting thread is.

I named this blog Quantum Statement because I thought it was a novel title. I don’t fully understand Quantum Mechanics, but my instincts tell me that this will be the next paradigm shift in our lifetime. The reason I feel this is so, is that the idea of Quantum Mechanics is almost completely inaccessible to most everyone. The first hundred times I read about it, it made no sense to me, and still, it makes little sense. However, I feel that advances in Quantum Computing will push these abstract ideas into the real. Soon, Quantum will be part of our everday lexicon, the way Internet or War on Terror is today.

March 1, 2006 - Posted by | Information Science

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

