Quantum Statement

The New Internet, the New World

My New Aiptek MPVR Gives Great Timelapse!

Using my Aiptek MPVR and a $5 tripod from Rite Aid, I shot four videos of the city. Each video lasted between eight and ten minutes.


  1. I copied the videos from my SD Card to my LaCie firewire drive and converted the *asf files to Quicktime *mov files (340×280 resolution) using FFMpeg.
  2. I then imported them to Final Cut Pro, stripped off the audio, and remapped the time of each clip to eight seconds.
  3. After exporting to lossless video files, I imported them into After Effects, retouched the color, and exported the sequence as a QuickTime *mov file with Sorenson3 encoding (320×240 resolution).
  4. Uploaded quicktime *mov to You Tube.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , FFMpeg, After Effects,

June 12, 2006 - Posted by | After Effects, Brooklyn, Camcorders, ffmpeg, Final Cut Pro, New York City, video, Web 2.0, youtube

11 Comments »

  1. Did you have written permission for all of those people on your video? That seems like an invasion of privacy to me. Your ass is gonna get sued.

    Comment by Jeremy | June 13, 2006 | Reply

  2. I do apologize for invadin their privacy. I did try to get the requisite permissions from all of those people appearing in the film; as you can see, however, they were all moving pretty fast.

    Comment by rfid4dna | June 14, 2006 | Reply

  3. LOL, don’t worry about invasion of privacy or lawsuits — not applicable to your video. I was wondering — what SD card works well for you in your MPVR? Thanks!

    Comment by suzanne | June 26, 2006 | Reply

  4. I haven’t compared them, but I like to use 1GB SanDisk cards. The camera supports up to 2GB cards, but 1GB serves my purposes well.

    Comment by rfid4dna | June 26, 2006 | Reply

  5. this is awesome.

    Comment by dinomonster | December 7, 2006 | Reply

  6. Did you use a GUI or just the command line with FFMpeg? If command line, which cmd line arguments did you use?

    Comment by Tim | January 30, 2007 | Reply

  7. I use the GUI version. I transfer the files into Quicktime movies.

    Comment by rfid4dna | January 30, 2007 | Reply

  8. how does that LaCie firewire drive work. I have a Mac and need a firewire to upload video from my MPVR.

    Comment by dcast55 | February 5, 2007 | Reply

  9. It works great; however, you need USB to connect the MPVR to your Mac.

    Comment by rfid4dna | February 5, 2007 | Reply

  10. So the MPVR is at least semi compatible with a mac? I was looking into buying a mac but I just bought an MPVR and was wondering if I could still upload my movies (gotta youtube doncha know)

    Comment by John | February 14, 2007 | Reply

  11. YES. For Mac users, the MPVR does sorta work with Macs. What you need is to download a free program called ffmpeg to convert the asf files to quicktime. If you just want to view the files, you can use the vlc player. Of course, if you are just uploading videos to the Internet, some sites can handle asf files from the mpvr (MySpace is one that I know of).

    Comment by rfid4dna | February 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

